When you look closely at the statistics of a site's visit, you can sometimes be frustrated: you realize that visitors spend very little time reading the pages. Indeed, they scan the contents very quickly and sometimes look down if a content catches their attention.

The duration of consumption of your content is important because it also means for the search engines that you have offered visitors qualitative information worthy of interest. This will therefore condition your marketing performance and especially SEO.

But how do we do this, in the ocean of sites and content available on the Internet?

Create a consistent path on your site

Refine the user/customer path of your site as much as possible: empathize with your visitors and determine a coherent and simple succession of clicks/page views. To achieve this, work on the user experience (UX for "User Experience") of your site by designing page templates adapted and understandable by your audience. If you don't know how to go about it, surround yourself with a UX agency who will pass on best practices and guide you. The UX optimization of your site is a continuous work: it is always perfectible and must change with the observation of your visitors' behaviour. Test your ideas and validate them with data. With Cubly, you can very easily define the structure of your site and your pages using the components (C2A, form, block, section, title, paragraph, page header, etc.) of the builder and then change the order of these components with the proposed "drag & drop".

Create striking UX wordings

Around the user experience you have defined, think about keywords / key phrases that mark the reading of your content. Without this "Wording UX" work, you risk not catching your visitors and they will not read your pages / articles. Try to make these keywords short (always better for mobile) and challenge them.

Combine related content to enrich the reading experience.

Your page or article addresses a well-defined theme. One of the advantages of web pages compared to print is that you can attach dynamic content in strategic places: consolidate the main argument of a paragraph with a quote for example; propose a list of associated articles at the end of your page; imagine a summary block of the type "To remember"; refer users to another section of your site, etc. This is an excellent way to retain your visitors to quality content and guide them to pages they might not have seen otherwise.

Work on the introduction of your pages to captivate readers

The first lines of your article or page are crucial. It is well known that in the web, the introduction must propose the solution to the problem, so that the article has a chance to be read. A good introduction is therefore short, and already proposes the solutions that will be developed. Direct the subject to the reader so that he or she is interested and try to imagine a strong story telling: we all love stories since we were children.

Integrate visuals to enrich your pages

The visual contents are photos, videos, illustrations or computer graphics. We all know the adage that a picture is worth a thousand words or a video is worth a thousand pictures...Internet users watch more than 4 billion videos a day on YouTube, and spend 100 million hours watching videos on Facebook. To easily insert images / photos, there are many royalty-free databases such as pexels.com or flickr. If you have the resources, organize a photo or video shoot that will enrich your page / article. It is a time / budget investment but will be profitable if these contents are well imagined.

Optimize the loading time of your site

A loading time that is too long increases the bounce rate of your site and devalues your SEO since Google attaches a lot of importance to the loading speed of the pages of a site in order to reference it compared to other sites.
To maximize this loading speed, define an adapted hosting strategy that supports your site's databases. Have your site's code audited by experts to identify potential areas for improvement, and if necessary, optimize your code accordingly. On Cubly, hosting and loading time are optimized thanks to the code platform that has been created for you and thanks to the hosting structure defined on WP Engine.

Comments

Comments for this post are closed

Lorsqu’on regarde de près les statistiques de visite d’un site, on peut être parfois frustrés : on se rend compte que les visiteurs n’accordent que très peu de temps à la lecture des pages. En effet, ils scannent les contenus très rapidement et parfois posent leur regard si un contenu capte leur attention.

La durée de consommation de votre contenu est importante car elle signifie aussi pour les moteurs de recherche que vous avez proposé aux visiteurs des informations qualitatives dignes d’intérêt. Cela va donc conditionner vos performances marketing et notamment SEO.

Mais comment y parvenir, dans l’océan de sites et de contenues disponibles sur internet ?

Créez un parcours cohérent sur votre site

Peaufinez au maximum le parcours utilisateur / client de votre site : placez-vous en empathie avec vos visiteurs et déterminez une succession de clics / vision de pages cohérent et simple. Pour y parvenir, travaillez l’expérience utilisateur (UX pour « User Experience ») de votre site en concevant des templates de pages adaptés et compréhensibles par votre audience. Si vous ne savez pas comment vous y prendre, entourez-vous d’une agence UX qui vous transmettra les bonnes pratiques et vous guidera. L’optimisation UX de votre site est un travail continu : il est toujours perfectible et doit changer avec l’observation du comportement de vos visiteurs. Testez vos idées et validez-les par de la data. Avec Cubly, vous pouvez très facilement définir la structure de votre site et de vos pages à l’aide des composants (C2A, formulaire, bloc, section, titre, paragraphe, page header, etc.) du builder et ensuite modifier l’ordre de ces composants avec le « drag & drop »proposé.

Créez des wordings UX marquants

Autour de l’expérience utilisateur que vous avez définie, réfléchissez à des mots clefs / phrases clefs qui marquent la lecture de vos contenus. Sans ce travail de « Wording UX », vous risquez de ne pas accrocher vos visiteurs et ils ne liront pas vos pages / articles. Essayez de rendre ces mots clefs courts (toujours mieux pour le mobile) et challengez-les.

Associez des contenus annexes pour enrichir la lecture

Votre page ou votre article adresse un thème bien défini. L’un des avantages des pages web par rapport au print est que vous pouvez attacher des contenus dynamiques à des endroits stratégiques : consolidez l’argument principal d’un paragraphe avec une citation par exemple, ; proposez une liste d’articles associés à la fin de votre page ; imaginez un bloc de synthèse du type « A retenir » ; renvoyez les utilisateurs vers une autre section de votre site, etc. C’est un excellent moyen de retenir vos visiteurs vers du contenus de qualité et les guider vers des pages qu’ils n’auraient peut-être pas vues sinon.

Travaillez l’introduction de vos pages pour captiver les lecteurs

Les premières lignes de votre article ou de votre page sont cruciales. Il est connu d’ailleurs que dans le web l’introduction doit proposer la solution du problème évoqué, afin que l’article ait des chances d’être lu. Une bonne introduction est donc courte, et propose déjà les solutions qui vont être élaborées. Dirigez le propos sur le lecteur pour qu’il soit intéressé et essayez d’imaginer un story telling fort : on aime tous les histoires depuis notre enfance.

Intégrez du visuel pour enrichir vos pages

Les contenus visuels sont les photos, vidéos, illustrations ou encore infographies. On connait tous l’adage selon lequel une image vaut mille mots ou qu’une vidéo vaut 1000 images…Les utilisateurs d’internet regardent plus de 4 milliards de vidéos par jours sur YouTube, et passent 100 millions d’heures à voir des vidéos sur Facebook. Pour insérer facilement des images / photos, il existe de nombreuses bases de données libres de droits comme pexels.com ou flickr. Si vous en avez les ressources, organisez un shooting photo ou vidéo qui enrichiront votre page / article. Il s’gait d’un investissement temps / budget mais qui saura être rentable si ces contenus sont bien imaginés.

Optimisez le temps de chargement de votre site

Un temps de chargement trop long augmente le taux de rebond de votre site et dévalorise votre SEO puisque Google accorde beaucoup d’importance à la vitesse de chargement des pages d’un site pour le référencer par rapport aux autres sites.
Pour maximiser cette vitesse de chargement, définissez une stratégie d’hébergement adaptée qui supporte les bases de données de votre site. Faîtes auditer le code de votre site par des experts afin d’identifier des voies d’amélioration potentielles, et si besoin optimisez votre code en conséquence. Sur Cubly, l’hébergement et le temps de chargement sont optimisés grâce à la plateforme de code qui a été créée pour vous et grâce à la structure d’hébergement définie sur WP Engine.

Comments

Comments for this post are closed